Skip to main content

Out-of-State Students: State Authorization

State Authorization

NC State’s Online and Distance Education programs are authorized or exempt from authorization in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and U.S. territories.

The State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA) is a voluntary agreement among its member states and U.S. territories that establishes comparable national standards for interstate offering of postsecondary distance education courses and programs. It is intended to make it easier for students to take online courses offered in other states, to give them confidence that programs in other states are properly authorized and thus to improve the quality of online education. NC-SARA Policies and Standards(.pdf)

The National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (NC-SARA) oversees SARA. Forty-eight states (all except California and Massachusetts*) currently participate in NC-SARA. NC-SARA operates under the authority of four regional education compacts: the Midwestern Higher Education Compact, the New England Board of Higher Education, the Southern Regional Board and the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education. North Carolina is one of 16 states in the Southern Regional Board compact.

NC State University was approved in October 2016 by SARA-North Carolina to participate in NC-SARA.

Though California and Massachusetts are not members of SARA, NC State University is able to offer online education in these states, either by means of authorization or exemption from authorization.

For general inquiries regarding state authorization, please contact, 919.515.9030 or 866.GO STATE (467.8283).